The Rites – The Armenian Church

For many Aremenians, the rite is based off of the formulations of Patriarch Maschdotz from the 9th century.  There are many variations and some use the indicative absolution while others use a deprecative: “God forgives your sins.”  The rite is as follows:

“The penitent, kneeling at the side of the confessor, who places his hands on him, first makes a general confession with the aid of the priest.  ‘He then confesses each sin…. After he has accepted the penance imposed by the priest, he asks the priest: ‘Holy Father, you are the mediator of  my reconciliation and my intercessor with God’s only Son.  I ask you therefore to absolve me of my sins by the power which has been given to you.’

“The priest then says a prayer in which he recalls that, by the power and express command of the Lord: ‘All which you will bind on earth… I absolve you [some rituals say, ‘I have absolved you…’] of all of the bonds of sin, thoughts, words and deeds, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, and I admit you once again to the sacrament of the Holy Church.  May all the good which you have done increase your merit and future glory.  Amen.”   (Chapungco, 109).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Rites – The Armenian Church

  1. These words of the penitent are humbling and powerful: “Holy Father, you are the mediator of my reconciliation and my intercessor with God’s only Son. I ask you therefore to absolve me of my sins by the power which has been given to you.”

    The prayer says that the penitent, after being absolved is readmitted to the “sacrament of the Church.” Is this referring to the Eucharist, or the Church as a sacrament in a more loose sense of the word?

    -Jason

Leave a Reply

